A boy’s view of heaven…

I chose the article A boy’s view of ‘Heaven’: Is it real? because of it being Easter weekend. The holiday made this article timely. This article tells the story of a young boy who told his family that he visited Heaven while undergoing surgery for a burst pancreas. It was a very serious surgery and the doctors said that his chances for surviving were not too high. The story goes on to talk about the boys accounts of what happened. He claims to have met and even sat on Jesus’ lap, along with seeing a grandfather, and an older sister that he never got to meet.

I liked this article because it really makes you think. So many people claim to believe in God, or somewhere that you go after death, but there are so many questions. This little boy claimed to know and see things that are unexplainable, unless where he went was the real thing. I think the author of this piece did a good job at showing the innocence of the boy from the very beginning when including the part about him ordering an oreo desert and scarfing it down as quickly as possible.

Craig Wilson is a columnist for USA Today, and has been for over 20 years. He is from New York.

Just as this article made me think, I believe it will do the same to others who take the time to read it. It may not be hard news, or the most exciting story, but it definitely has an impact. At least, it did with me. I wouldn’t have changed anything or done anything differently if this article would have been written by me.

One response to “A boy’s view of heaven…

  1. I think this article is really beautiful! I think taking a different spin from the usual photo gallery of kids at church or doing an easter egg hunt is awesome! I especially liked how unbiased the writer was. He showed both sides of the story and didn’t put himself in it.

Leave a comment